URNRD Fills Open Board Member Seats

URNRD Fills Open Board Member Seats

Thursday, April 4, 2019

The Upper Republican Natural Resources District Board of Directors has appointed Janice Stroup, who lives in Eastern Dundy County, to the Board to fill the Subdistrict 1 seat, formerly held by Mick Strand. Stroup is an agronomist as well as a farmer who owns and operates a crop scouting business. Her subdistrict encompasses eastern and part of north central Dundy County.

We are still seeking applicants for Subdistrict 5 and Subdistrict 8. The appointee for subdistrict 5 shall serve until 2020 when the term expires while the appointee for subdistrict 8 shall serve until 2022. Individuals interested in filing for either of these vacancies are encouraged to submit a letter of application that contains your place of residence and confirmation that you are a registered voter along with why you are interested in holding the position. The Board will appoint the new member from the pool of qualified applicants. Subdistrict 5 is the general area of Imperial east of Broadway and Subdistrict 8 is most of the area north of highway 23 and west of highway 61 in northwestern Perkins County.  

The Subdistrict 5 seat was previously held by Tom Gaschler until 2017 when he resigned. Subdistrict 8 seat is held by Lorren Jessen, who did not file for reelection.

 Congratulations to the newest Board Members who were elected to the Board and begin their term this month! Brock Stromberger was elected to the Member at Large seat previously held by Jeff Wallin and Jay Lee was elected to the Subdistrict 10 seat previously held by Brett Bullock that encompasses eastern Perkins County.